Indian Spiced Paleo Beef Meatballs

Hey, you guys!  Can you hear me saying that in Sloth’s voice?  Cause that’s the voice I was using.  Anyway, here’s my first recipe post, I hope there aren’t too many glaring errors as this is new to me.  I was just too excited to not post.  These meatballs are paleo and gluten free friendly, great to make ahead and freeze and the recipe can be doubled with ease. Enjoy!

DSCN0489
See the speckles on the lemon rind?  That’s cause I had it in the freezer, yes it’s a little frost on there.  Keep your leftover lemon rinds in the freezer and make people think you’re fancy and prepared when you add some lemon zest to literally anything at any time.  Also, you can freeze ginger and turmeric root for fresh flavor anytime.  It doesn’t even need to thaw out or be peeled.
DSCN0503
Zested up lemon peel, ginger and turmeric root.  Have I mentioned how much I love my microplane?  It’s one of my favorite kitchen tools.

DSCN0508

DSCN0513
If you want to freeze these, then put the rolled raw meat into the freezer on parchment and put into a freezer bag once they’re frozen.  To cook later, simply bake frozen meatballs on parchment lined or oiled baking sheet at 400 degrees F until cooked through.

DSCN0516DSCN0517

Indian Spiced Paleo Beef Meatballs

1 lb. Grassfed ground beef
1 TBS fresh turmeric root, grated (or 1-2 tsp turmeric powder.  Or if this isn’t in your cupboard, just use an extra tsp of curry powder)
1 TBS fresh ginger root, grated (or 1-2 tsp of ginger powder.)
1 TBS fresh lemon zest, grated (about 1/2 lemon)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp garam masala
1/2 tsp curry powder
1/4 tsp coriander
Dash of cayenne
2 TBS water

1. Let your beef come to room temp if you have time, this means letting it sit out on the counter for 30 mins or so. If you’re like “I need to eat NOW!” then don’t worry about that step.
2. Assemble your ingredients, find your microplane zester, your cutting board, a sharp knife, a mixing bowl, get out a baking sheet and put some parchment on it (or oil it up), preheat your oven to 400 degrees F.
3. Zest your turmeric, ginger and lemon zest with your amazing microplane (I always have fun with this tool) and mince your garlic. Measure your spices.
4. Mix all ingredients into your beef. The 2 TBS of water is just there to help mix things around. You can omit the water or add a little extra if you need. Using a Tablespoon measuring spoon, an ice cream scoop or large serving spoon, measure out hunks of the beef mixture. Place evenly spaced on your oiled or parchment-ed baking sheet and roll lightly to get uniform-ish shaped balls. I don’t like to make these too perfect, but that’s your call.
5. Bake at 400 F for 20-25 mins. Check after 20 mins and flip if getting brown on the bottom.
6. Let cool a little and enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Indian Spiced Paleo Beef Meatballs

  1. koolaidmoms

    I saved this to try really soon! They look delicious. Thank you for the tip about the lemons. I do this with bananas that are turning too ripe but never thought of freezing the lemons too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment