Chili Lime Turkey Burgers

DSCN0677.JPG

When it comes to nutrition, I like to be sneaky.  Not in a malicious way, but I get a thrill out of serving food that has a lot of nutrition but is also damn delicious, because I like food.  It doesn’t matter how healthy something is, if I don’t like it, I’m not eating it.  I assume most people feel the same way.  I also like secret ingredients, not creepy stuff, just things you wouldn’t expect or wouldn’t know you were eating unless someone told you.  In the case of these burgers, the secret ingredient is mushrooms!  These burgers would be tasty without the mushrooms, you could substitute in shredded zucchini or carrots in place of the mushrooms, but I urge you to try it as written.  These burgers are gluten free, paleo friendly and are great on a bun, with a salad or served with my Baked Carrot ‘Fries’ with Cumin.  Enjoy!

DSCN0755DSCN0763

DSCN0784
A chili lime turkey burger warmed up and chopped into a salad.  The possibilities are endless!  Well, maybe not endless, but there are lots of ways to enjoy these.

Chili Lime Turkey Burgers

1 lb ground turkey
1/2 c finely chopped mushrooms (they are going in your burgers, so make ’em pretty small and choppy… You know what I mean)
3 cloves minced garlic
1/2 cup finely chopped green onions (about 1/2 a bunch)
1/4 cup chopped cilantro (optional)
Zest of 1/2 lime
1 Tbs chili powder
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
1 Tbs coconut oil for cooking burgers

1.If you have time, let your meat come to room temperature for a few minutes as you assemble your other ingredients.
2.Combine all ingredients and form into 4 equally sized patties.
3.Heat a medium sized skillet over medium heat and add coconut oil to coat the bottom. I highly suggest using a cast iron skillet. Add 2 burgers to the skillet and cook for 5 minutes on each side, until cooked through with no pink remaining inside.
4.Serve with greens and Baked Carrot ‘Fries’ with Cumin.

One thought on “Chili Lime Turkey Burgers

Leave a comment