Green Curry Chicken with Veggies

Every year, I’m convinced it’s going to be winter forever but this year I have proof that spring is coming.  My backyard hens are laying more eggs this week, a sure sign that the days are getting longer.  Spring still exists, people!  This has nothing to do with this recipe, but it’s something I’m excited about because my hens hate winter as much as I do…or at least that’s what my chickens tell me.  What, chickens don’t talk to you?  Anyway, if you’re sick of the cold, know that some little backyard hens in Colorado feel your pain.  Does that help?  Probably not.  Until it gets warmer, this recipe is full of warming spices  that aren’t too spicy (ginger and green curry) and won’t take too much of your time.

As much as I love cooking and making things from scratch, I like having shortcuts in the kitchen too.  I just started a new job and need to get back to the routine of streamlining my cooking.  One of my favorite ways to save myself some work in the kitchen is buying ready to go rotisserie chicken (without any funky ingredients!) and finding ways to use up the leftovers.  This green curry chicken with veggies is a perfect way to transform leftover chicken.  You could of course buy chicken breasts or thighs and cook them up just for this recipe, too.  Let me know if you try it for yourself!

Chicken Green Curry with Green Beans

1-2 tsp coconut oil
12 oz green beans, cleaned, ends removed and snapped into smaller pieces
8 oz shiitake mushrooms, sliced, tough stems removed
2-3 carrots, scrubbed and sliced on a diagonal
1 bunch green onions, chopped
3 cloves of garlic
1 tsp freshly grated ginger
2-3 cups of leftover cooked chicken
2 tsp coconut aminos (or gluten free tamari)
1 Tbs green curry paste
1/2 C full fat canned coconut milk plus 1/4 C water
Zest of 1/2 lime
Optional: 1/2 tsp fish sauce (I like Red Boat brand)
Optional: sriracha sauce, for serving

1.Heat large skillet over medium heat and add coconut oil. When warm, add carrots, green beans and green onions. Cook for about 5 minutes, then add the garlic, grated ginger, coconut milk/water mix, coconut aminos, fish sauce and green curry paste. Stir well to distribute the curry paste. Allow to cook a few minutes longer until veggies start to become soft, then add chicken. Cook a few more minutes until chicken is heated through and then stir in the lime zest. Serve with extra coconut aminos and sriracha sauce if desired.
2.Serve over brown rice, or cauliflower rice if following a paleo diet.

Leave a comment