Cajun Spiced Roasted Yams

I don’t know if it’s because I grew up in the south with my mom’s sweet potato casserole, but good grief I love yams!  I’d go for yams over white potatoes any day, and I’m just lucky that they’re pretty good for you, too.  Yams are kind of having a moment, which I think they totally deserve.  This recipe pairs well with my Southwestern Turkey Black Bean Meatloaf if you’re looking for ideas for serving.

DSCN0815DSCN0813DSCN0830DSCN0817

DSCN0825
These roasted yams pair perfectly with my Southwestern Turkey Black Bean Meatloaf!

Cajun Spiced Roasted Yams

3 yams, peeled and chopped into 1/2” pieces
1.5 Tbs coconut oil
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp Cajun Creole seasoning mix (Spice Hunter brand)
1/2 tsp oregano

1.Preheat oven to 400° F. Prepare a baking sheet with parchment paper or lightly oil. Put yams in a medium sized mixing bowl. Melt coconut oil and mix spices into melted coconut oil, then pour over yams and stir to combine. The oil will harden as it cools on the yams, but that’s fine. It will melt again in the oven.
2.Roast yams in oven for 40 minutes. Checking after 20 minutes and flip them over and rotate pan as needed. Yams are done when they are soft and look roasty brown in spots. I suggest trying with my Southwestern Turkey Black Bean Meatloaf and a salad.

Leave a comment